As Seen on CTV: Kids’ Books about Bugs

With more people at home this summer and turning to local outdoor spaces, now is a great time to get into bugs! Whether you live in a city or the country, bugs are easy to find and are ceaselessly fascinating! Here is a selection of kids’ books about bugs, including nonfiction, graphic novels, true stories, fables, and even a superhero story!

Watch my CTV Your Morning segment here.

32AE9BDF-7529-490B-8543-36161CFB6C50
NATURE ALL AROUND: BUGS by Pamela Hickman, art by Carolyn Gavin (Ages 4-8)
This is the perfect introductory book for kids with an interest in bugs. This beautifully illustrated beginner’s guide provides a series of questions to lead readers through the steps of identifying bugs, and lists the tools every bug-watcher needs.

FOLLOW THAT BEE: A FIRST BOOK OF BEES IN THE CITY by Scot Ritchie (Ages 3-7)
This playful book mixes narration, facts and illustrations to introduce young children to why the world needs bees, and how people can help them thrive, even in urban spaces.

IMG_8826 (1)
NATSUMI’S SONG OF SUMMER by Robert Paul Weston, art by Misa Saburi (Ages 3-7)
In this sweet friendship story, two cousins who are meeting for the first time bond over a love of bugs in Japan. The text is written in a series of tanka poems, which is a Japanese poetry style similar to haiku. Check out this template to write your own ode to a bug!

FREDA AND THE BLUE BEETLE by Sophie Gilmore (Ages 3-7)
This fantastical fable follows the unlikely friendship between a girl and a large beetle named Ernest. When the villagers grow suspicious of Ernest, Freda must make a choice between following her heart and following the crowd. A quirky story about trusting your instincts and kindness.

2BBB9985-D707-4F0F-93C1-674052131C65

THE BUG GIRL by Sophia Spencer and Margaret McNamara, art by Keroscoet (Ages 4-8)
This is the true story of Canadian student Sophia Spencer who turns her love of bugs into a viral internet sensation! There’s a lot to love here, including an inspirational home-grown story about overcoming bullying and tips on bug identification.

THE MOSQUITO  by Elise Gravel (Ages 6-10)
The latest book in Canadian Elise Gravel’s hilarious non-fiction Disgusting Critters series is perfectly timed for summer, aka mosquito season. When you finish reading, check out this amazing series activity guide.

3ADEEE16-F42A-4663-9FE1-610F0E28373E

BUG BOYS by Laura Knetzger (Ages 6-9)
A sweet and silly graphic novel for early readers featuring two bug heroes and their adventures, both big and small.

THE TINY HERO OF FERNY CREEK LIBRARY by Linda Bailey (Ages 8-12)
A classic story in the vein of Charlotte’s Web, The Borrowers or A Bug’s Life in which a little bug named Eddie goes on a mission to rescue his favourite aunt who is lost in the library. Accompanied by gentle spot art, this would make a great family read-aloud.

THE UNSTOPPABLE WASP: BUILT ON HOPE by Sam Maggs (Age 12+)
Missing superhero movies this summer? Canadian author Sam Maggs takes on teen Marvel superhero Nadia Van Dyne (aka the Wasp) in this action packed, science-infused adventure. Featuring a team of rad teen female scientists, this is a great addition to the Marvel canon.

BEE safe out there, friends!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s